Back From The Dead & Frontera Bar & Grill in Jaya One is Dead on My List

2 Feb

It was just like any other Friday evening – the dreaded KL jam, the horrid rain, the eagerness to get home to get ready and welcome the long weekend until my sis got a call from my mom informing an aunt had passed away.

Ok granted we’re not that close, it is still a shocker and sad when a blood relatives passes on. My dad being the closest had dropped everything and gone to arrange the funeral.

2 hours had passed by; when we get a call from my mom informing that our aunt wasn’t dead after all.

“You mean she’s back from the dead” I remember how my sis creepily squealed.

Turns out she was never dead in the first place. My uncle who we all suspect is going senile swears he saw her drop dead while they were out and about for Thaipusam in Batu Caves. He had somehow managed to take the bus back and alerted the rest of her demise.

When in actual fact said aunt was pretty much alive, waiting at the information counter. She had problems remembering  phone numbers (including hers!) hence the delay in calling for help.

I swear this drama can only happen when you’re Indian :)

Anyway, after the fiasco, the husband wanted to resume plans of having dinner at Frontera Bar & Grill at Jaya One. Google the restaurant and you’ll find lots of reviews from bloggers about this place.

SADLY, enticing free food to bloggers who in return do you a favour and give you excellent reviews is just really sad.

First off, décor was somewhat simple, unlike how it was raved on most blogs. I like how some photos were clearly taken to make the place look elegant.

When in reality it was pretty much simple.

Never mind that, I don’t care much for décor. It was the food that got to me.

Food was just okay. Nothing out of the ordinary, nothing that would make you say WOW and make you want to drive all the way from KL to PJ again JUST to have food here, absolutely nothing like how it got raved on blogs! It was mediocre.

When you read awesome reviews on blogs, you expect your dish to be of quality, taste and standard. Period. What we had was just so disappointing, it wasn’t the most delicious meal we’ve had, neither was it the most horrible but I should have known better that free food/sampling equals to clouding of judgement and taste by some people, ahem.

 Service was rubbish and somewhat ‘selective’, if you get what I mean. Not even a simple thank you was said after we paid the bill, which is down right rude. So that was RM100 down the drain for utter crap.

And now looking back at some of the comments on these bloggers post, alot of people have commented how food isn’t as fantastic as read on blogs. Mental note: read real people’s comments next time and not ‘paid’ adverts!

Definitely wont’ be going back to Frontera Bar & Grill EVER AGAIN no matter what other blogs say.

Related Posts with Thumbnails

13 Responses to “Back From The Dead & Frontera Bar & Grill in Jaya One is Dead on My List”

  1. Sexy Jessie 02. Feb, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    Was it the joke of the day when your family found out that your aunt is alive? It must be a shocker for you… and then whew, relief.

    • TheMissusBlogs 03. Feb, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

      Jessie, I think everyone got a bit upset coz this shouldn’t have happened in the first place, really did stress a few people out. But guess it was a relief at the end.

  2. samlee860407 02. Feb, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    whao at your aunt 1st…really shocking :s

    anyway, like you say, frontera aint that good, neither is that bad, although a few of my friends love it very much

    i only went there for their spicy chicken wings, but the last time i went, i order for the ultra version, where it ain’t even more spicier than the normal version which i had earlier

    guess the standard of the food isnt consistent then.

    however,the service i get during my 2 visits is ok though

    • TheMissusBlogs 03. Feb, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

      LOL tell me about it.

      Well for me the food was okay only, compared to what was said in other blogs. Usually when I read reviews from bloggers who pay for their own meals, their comments are more realiable and if they say the food is good, it usually turns out good :)

      Lucky you coz I got sucky service :(

      • samlee860407 04. Feb, 2010 at 10:17 am #

        Maybe you ain’t lucky that day LOL

        yea, but sometimes when a blogger review of a food that they were paid to review, they dint reveal it, so we don’t know too.

        and sometimes different people different taste, the same goes to the food quality too, if lucky get good food, if unlucky bad food. I had been to few places that their food quality is just so inconsistent, sigh…

  3. Brenda 02. Feb, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    Hey Cas, omg, I actually thought she pass away. Thank God, she came back? Anyway, it’s all good news. Haha, yea, paid advert, I don’t usually give second thought about it :D

    • TheMissusBlogs 03. Feb, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

      Hey Brenda, yea we all thought she did but that wasn’t the case. What a way to start the weekend eh? Exactly, I think me going to rely on food bloggers who dont get paid with free food next time, hehe.

  4. Eugene 03. Feb, 2010 at 6:05 am #

    I was about to say sorry for your loss and then I read on and found out what actually happened…

    As for the food, bad service is a major no-no. Will keep in mind to avoid this place moving forward ;)

    • TheMissusBlogs 03. Feb, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

      Eugene, LOL well what can I say….

      Exactly, without proper service, how do they expect people to return to the restaurant right? Ban this place.

  5. Cheryl 03. Feb, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    Hi,

    I like to read your blog. Got it from the wedding webbie.
    Its so funny about your aunt ‘back from dead’?

    FYI I dunno why lar, I think last year there’s a man died in that restaurant. Heart Attack perhaps.. hehe

    • TheMissusBlogs 03. Feb, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

      Cheryl, aww thanks, means alot.

      Haha yea you can imagine the shock we all had on Friday.

      Wow now that is news, I really hope the heart attack wasn’t caused by the food or bad service la. Ok I’m being mean but poor guy though.

  6. Larry 04. Mar, 2010 at 2:48 am #

    Hi,

    My name is Larry Martin, I happen to be the owner of Frontera Bar & Grill at Jaya One and I would like to apologize from the bottom of my heart for the experience that you had at Frontera.

    I would like to let you know that customer satisfaction is extremly important to us and that we take your comments seriously. Without any specifics though, it is really difficult for me to commnent further.

    I would be grateful if you would kindly give me a call at 017-655-8631 and let me know exactly what was wrong with your meal so that I can look into it and rectify the situation.

    Warm Regards,

    Larry

    P.S. We don’t nor have we ever paid bloggers for favorable reviews. I simply don’t believe in it.

    • TheMissusBlogs 04. Mar, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

      Hi Larry,

      Thank you for your comment. Now, as I’ve said in my blog, the food was okay (but not befitting the status
      raved by those you invited over for food sampling). We infact had ordered the dishes based on recommendations by these bloggers.

      To be specific, the taquitos de pollo that the other bloggers raved about leaves much to be desired. Chicken morsels were tiny (almost non-existent) and it was extremely oily as well. The dip had no distinctive taste whatsoever.

      My husband had the chicken chipotle sandwich which was quite good, except for the bun which was slabbed on with butter. Having stayed in the States for 5 years and having his fair share of tex-mex cuisine, there was way too much butter that he had to put the bread away.

      I on the other hand had the chicken burrito. The mexican rice was tasty and flavorful, however the rest of the burrito simply had a flat taste to it. The burrito had a dismal portion of melted cheese not befitting its Tex-Mexican status and didn’t have the cheesy goey texture I would have imagine.

      We’ll just treat it as an off day by the chef :)

      However what really got to us was the poor service. There was not a simple warm thank you after spending RM100 at your restaurant. On top of good food, great service is what keeps us coming back to our favorite restaurants. If the uncle at a hawker stall can
      thank us for purchasing a RM5 bowl of noodles, surely your waiters can be trained to do the same.

      I hope this clarifies everything and no hard feelings Larry, hope there will be better improvements on service at your restaurant.

      Kind Rgds

Leave a Reply

:D :) :o :eek: :( :lol: :wink: :arrow: :idea: :?: :!: :evil: :p